Available for Online Order

ISBN-13: 978-0996453476
Pages: 130
Trim: 6×9
Format: Paperback

Along the Pocatalico

Margaret M. Nava

Along the Pocatalico is the latest book by author Margaret M. Nava. In it she shares her memories of moving “back to the land” on a goat farm in rural 1970s Roane County, West Virginia.

“Many years ago, with unknown roads yet to travel and mountains yet to climb, my husband and I lived along the Pocatalico River in central West Virginia. It was there that we learned to grow a garden, grate horseradish, bale hay and milk goats. It was there that we learned about coon hunting, frog gigging and possum trapping. It was there that we went to our first revival, ate ramps and learned to live off the land. It was there that we made many memories – some happy, some sad. “

But the human heart is a strange thing. You can convince yourself that things of the past are over and done with, but, every once in a while, something sparks a memory and you find your heart leading you back to earlier days. The stories in this book are about memories from a time that once was – a time of new beginnings in a place of old traditions.”


Print copies available online on these platforms


Barnes and Noble


E-Book editions available on these platforms

Amazon KindleGoogle Play

Apple Books


About the Author


A native of Illinois, Margaret M. Nava spent more than twenty years traveling throughout the Southwest researching and writing short articles about nature, anthropology, spirituality, and Hispanic and Native American traditions. Several years ago, she relocated to New Mexico and began writing books.

Her two New Mexico travel guides, Along the High Road and Remembering: A Guide to New Mexico Cemeteries, Monuments and Memorials, were published by Sunstone Press of Santa Fe and Egret Cove, the first in her Lady-Lit novels (no overt sex, violence or profanity) was published in 2008 by Bell Bridge Books of Smyrna, Georgia. The second book, Hummingbird Ridge, was published in December of 2009 and the third and final book, Mariposa Landing, was released in 2010. Following the adventures of sixty-ish Angela Dunn, the books focus on the important things in life – family, faith, and friends.

Margaret enjoys writing stories about interesting people and historic places in New Mexico as well as inspirational articles for Christian publications throughout the United States.

Amazon Author Page


Some of our unique West Virginia culture is thoughtfully illuminated, from an “outsider’s” turned “welcome neighbor’s” narrative. – Amazon.com Reviewer